Tennessee Has Fined Residents $100,000 For Braiding Hair, But Won’t Pass New Gun Control Laws
The state of Tennessee has failed to pass any new gun safety laws, but has managed to fine residents nearly $100,000 for braiding hair without a license since 2009.
The Institute for Justice studied disciplinary actions by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, and found close to $100,000 in fines against dozens of braiders and more than 30 natural hair shops and salons for unlicensed braiding, notes Forbes.
The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners reportedly issues a $1,000 “civil penalty” for every instance of “performing natural hair care services for clients without a license.”
These fines include braiders who work out of their homes or unlicensed/licensed salons.
Braiders are allowed to work without a license in almost half the country, but Tennessee only allows licensed “natural hair stylists” to be paid for braiding, twisting, wrapping, weaving, extending or locking hair.
To get the license, people have to complete 300 hours of coursework from only 3 schools in Tennessee that charge from $1,500 to $5,000 for the courses.
Tennessee Rep. David Hawk and Sen. Mark Norris have sponsored bills HB 1809 and SB 2233 that would repeal the license requirement.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance (includes the state Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners) supports the bills.